the virgins lover

The Virgin S Lover

Author By : Philippa Gregory
File Book : 441 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0743256158
Genre : Fiction
Price : FREE/SIGN UP
Format : All Format

Description Ebook: A fictional portrait of the early years of the reign of Elizabeth I follows the young queen as she copes with intrigues aimed at placing Mary, Queen of Scots, on the British throne, and her passion for the traitorous Robert Dudley.

The Virgin S Lover

Author By : Philippa Gregory
File Book : 485 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780007192786
Genre : Favorites, Royal
Price : FREE/SIGN UP
Format : All Format

Description Ebook: Sumptuous historical novel from bestselling author of THE OTHER BOLEYN GIRL and THE QUEEN'S FOOLElizabeth I has acceded to the throne of England, a position she has waited and schemed for all her life. She is surrounded by advisers, all convinced that they know what would be best for the country and certain that a young woman cannot form political judgements. Elizabeth feels that she can rely on just one man: her oldest friend, Robert Dudley. It is soon plain that he is more than merely a friend. In a house in the countryside waits a very different woman, Amy Robsart -- Robert's wife. She has no taste for life at court and longs for the day when her husband will return home and attend to his family. She has loved him since she was a girl, but now they are adults she hardly sees him. Meanwhile, the pressure grows for Elizabeth to marry, for it is unthinkable that a queen should rule on her own. Elizabeth's preference is clear, but he is unavailable. But what if the unthinkable were to happen. . . Philippa Gregory blends passion, personalities and politics in this stunning novel of the Tudor court and a country divided.

Tidelands

Author By : Philippa Gregory
File Book : 464 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781501187179
Genre : Fiction
Price : FREE/SIGN UP
Format : All Format

Description Ebook: The #1 New York Times bestselling author and “one of the great storytellers of our time” (San Francisco Book Review) turns from the glamour of the royal courts to tell the story of an ordinary woman, Alinor, who cannot bear to conform to the life that lies before her. Midsummer’s Eve, 1648, England is in the grip of a civil war between renegade king and rebellious parliament. The struggle reaches every corner of the kingdom, even the remote tidelands —the marshy landscape of the south coast. Alinor, a descendant of wisewomen, trapped in poverty and superstition, waits in the graveyard under the full moon for a ghost who will declare her free from her abusive husband. Instead, she meets James, a young man on the run, and shows him the secret ways across the treacherous marsh, not knowing that she is leading disaster into the heart of her life. Suspected of possessing dark secrets in superstitious times, Alinor’s ambition and determination mark her out from her neighbors. This is the time of witch mania, and Alinor, a woman without a husband, skilled with herbs, suddenly enriched, arouses envy in her rivals and fear among the villagers, who are ready to take lethal action into their own hands. It is dangerous for a woman to be different.

Philippa Gregory S Tudor Collection

Author By : Gregory
File Book : Pages
ISBN-13 : 0007848005
Genre :
Price : FREE/SIGN UP
Format : All Format

Description Ebook: Boxset contains paperback editions of Virgins Lover, Other Queen, Boleyn Inheritance, Queens Fool, Constant Princess & Other Boleyn Girl.

Philippa Gregory 3 Book Tudor Collection 2 The Queen S Fool The Virgin S Lover The Other Queen

Author By : Philippa Gregory
File Book : 1440 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780007536269
Genre : Fiction
Price : FREE/SIGN UP
Format : All Format

Description Ebook: From the bestselling author of THE WHITE QUEEN, now a hit BBC TV production - the last three novels of her Tudor Court series: THE QUEEN’S FOOL, THE VIRGIN’S LOVER and THE OTHER QUEEN

The Other Queen

Author By : Philippa Gregory
File Book : 448 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781416549123
Genre : Fiction
Price : FREE/SIGN UP
Format : All Format

Description Ebook: Presents a tale inspired by the story of Mary, Queen of Scots, in a work that follows the doomed monarch's long imprisonment in the household of the Earl of Shrewsbury and his spying wife, Bess.

The Other Boleyn Girl Movie Tie In

Author By : Philippa Gregory
File Book : 672 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781416560609
Genre : Fiction
Price : FREE/SIGN UP
Format : All Format

Description Ebook: The daughters of a ruthlessly ambitious family, Mary and Anne Boleyn are sent to the court of Henry VIII to attract the attention of the king, who first takes Mary as his mistress, in which role she bears him an illegitimate son, and then Anne as his wife. Reprint. 250,000 first printing. (A Columbia Pictures film, written by Peter Morgan, directed by Justin Chadwick, releasing Fall 2007, starring Natalie Portman, Scarlett Johansson, Eric Bana, and others) (Historical Fiction)

The Virgin S Daughter

Author By : Laura Andersen
File Book : 368 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780804179379
Genre : Fiction
Price : FREE/SIGN UP
Format : All Format

Description Ebook: Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Virgin’s Daughter is the first book in a captivating new saga about the next generation of Tudor royals, which poses the thrilling question: What if Elizabeth I, the celebrated Virgin Queen, gave birth to a legitimate heir? Since the death of her brother, William, Elizabeth I has ruled England. She’s made the necessary alliances, married Philip of Spain, and produced a successor: her only daughter, Anne Isabella, Princess of Wales. Elizabeth knows that her beloved Anabel will be a political pawn across Europe unless she can convince Philip to grant her a divorce, freeing him to remarry and give Spain its own heir. But the enemies of England have even greater plans for the princess, a plot that will put Anabel’s very life and the security of the nation in peril. Only those closest to Elizabeth—her longtime confidante Minuette, her advisor and friend Dominic, and the couple’s grown children—can be trusted to carry forth a most delicate and dangerous mission. Yet, all of the queen’s maneuverings may ultimately prove her undoing. Praise for The Virgin’s Daughter “Thrilling . . . [Laura Andersen’s] characters are well imagined and consistent, especially the Tudor siblings. . . . [The Virgin’s Daughter] balances action and plot with emotion and character development. . . . One of the best things about alternative history is that you don’t know what will happen next, and Andersen takes full advantage of that fact.”—The Roanoke Times “The plot includes many threads, yet they are weaved together flawlessly. Andersen brilliantly blends the history and historical characters we know into her wondrous new world.”—RT Book Reviews Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Philippa Gregory 3 Book Set

Author By : Philippa Gregory
File Book : 1440 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0007513690
Genre :
Price : FREE/SIGN UP
Format : All Format

Description Ebook: A delightful set of three of Philippa Gregory's bestselling Tudor Court series, THE QUEEN'S FOOL, THE VIRGIN'S LOVER and THE OTHER QUEEN, perfect for a great Christmas present.

The Queen S Fool

Author By : Philippa Gregory
File Book : 512 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781416593973
Genre : Fiction
Price : FREE/SIGN UP
Format : All Format

Description Ebook: #1 New York Times bestselling author and “queen of royal fiction” (USA TODAY) Philippa Gregory weaves a spellbinding tale of a young woman with the ability to see the future in an era when destiny was anything but clear. Winter, 1553. Pursued by the Inquisition, Hannah Green, a fourteen-year-old Jewish girl, is forced to flee with her father from their home in Spain. But Hannah is no ordinary refugee; she has the gift of “Sight,” the ability to foresee the future, priceless in the troubled times of the Tudor court. Hannah is adopted by the glamorous Robert Dudley, the charismatic son of King Edward’s protector, who brings her to court as a “holy fool” for Queen Mary and, ultimately, Queen Elizabeth. Hired as a fool but working as a spy; promised in wedlock but in love with her master; endangered by the laws against heresy, treason, and witchcraft, Hannah must choose between the safe life of a commoner and the dangerous intrigues of the royal family that are inextricably bound up with her own yearnings and desires. Teeming with vibrant period detail and peopled by characters seamlessly woven into the sweeping tapestry of history, The Queen’s Fool is a rich and emotionally resonant gem from a masterful storyteller.